The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS.

EYFS Early Learning Goals

The EYFS definition

Children achieving a 'good level of development' are those achieving at least the expected level within the following areas of learning: 

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics

% Achieving a good level of development

% Achieving at least expected in all 17 early learning goals

Average total point score

Source: DfE Early years foundation stage profile results: 2016 to 2017

“Thank you HUGELY for all the love and support you have given us and our daughter. She LOVES coming to nursery and we are very grateful.”
— Parental quote

To find out more about what Maldon Court Preparatory school can offer your child, request an information pack today.